UAv Consulting and Services

UAV / Drone Basic Rules

The FAA puts UAS Systems into three Categories:

  1. Hobby/ Recreational

  2. Public Operations

  3. Civil/Commercial Operations

Hobby/Recreational UAS

The statutory parameters of a model aircraft operation are outlined in Section 336 of Public Law 112-95 (the FAA Modernization and Reform Act of 2012) (PDF). Individuals who fly within the scope of these parameters do not require permission to operate their UAS; any flight outside these parameters (including any non-hobby, non-recreational operation) requires FAA authorization. After 8/29/2016, Hobby/Recreational UAS is also governed by 14 CFR Part 101 Subpart E. For more information. See the "Know before you Fly Campaign" and the "FAA's interpretation of the Special Rule for Model Aircraft" for additional Information.

Public Operations (Governmental)

Public Aircraft Operations are limited by federal statue to certain government operations within U.S. airspace.  Public UAS Operations can choose to operate under:

  1. 14 CFR Part 107 or

  2. A Waver to certain portions of 14 CFR Part 107 (As allowed by 14CFR 107.205) or,

  3.  A "Certificate of Waver or Authorization (COA)"  that permits public agencies and organizations to operate a particular aircraft, for a particular purpose, in a particular area.

Civil/Commercial Operations

Commercial Operations may either be conducted under:

  1. 14 CFR Part 107 or,

  2. A Waver to certain portions of 14 CFR Part 107 (As allowed by 14 CFR 107.205) or,

  3. Section 333 and a civil Certificate of Waiver or Authorization (COA).